My Favorite Sugar Cookies Ever!!!

I love sugar cookies! There are certain holiday seasons that  it doesn’t matter how crazy busy I am, I have to make sugar cookies. It is almost like bad Karma if I don’t. I know everybody has their preference of how they like their sugar cookies. I grew up in a home where we ate sugar cookies that were thin and crispy brown, which is kinda weird but that’s how most of my family like them. But that was the norm for us, in fact some of my sisters still request a few crispy cookies around the holidays. I, of course, cannot fulfill their request because there is just something troubling to me about over cooking any food on purpose. It wasn’t until I started working at Bon Appetite (the food management  company, not the magazine) that I realized that most people do not prefer their sugar cookies that way. My eyes were opened to the amazing world of soft and slightly golden sugar cookies. To me a perfect sugar cookie is thick but not so thick that you choke when trying to eat it. It has to be moist but not so moist that it falls apart before it even makes it to your mouth.

Then there is the frosting, which has to be sweet but not so sweet that you get instant sugar overload with just one bite. It has to be flavorful so that you don’t just taste the powder sugar. Come on… I know you know what I am talking about.

After searching high and low for the perfect sugar cookie recipe I finally found this recipe in my husband’s family cookbook. It was submitted by his cousin’s wife, Jen; however, I made a few slight changes to the recipe. I knew when I made these bad boys that I was hooked! One of the things I love about this recipe is the french vanilla pudding. The vanilla makes the cookie very soft and adds a yummy vanilla pop to it as well. In fact they are so good I would even eat one without any frosting on it. And that my friends is saying a lot.

People constantly ask for the recipe. I will leave it up to you. Try them and let my know if they met all your sugar cookie expectations. I am willing to bet they will.

Until next time,

Happy Eating!

Carrie

100_0629

Grandma’s Sugar Cookies

1 c. butter (softened)

1 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

¼ tsp. baking powder

1 egg

3 ½  c. flour

1 ( 3 oz.) french vanilla instant pudding

1/4c. milk

1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar together. Add egg, milk and vanilla to butter mixture. Mix dry ingredients together and slowly add to butter mixture. Mix well. Roll out to a half inch thick rectangle and cut out into desired shapes. Place cookies on greased cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes or until slightly golden brown. Cool completely before frosting.

Cream Cheese  Buttercream Frosting

1 stick of butter, softened

2 oz. of cream cheese softened

6 c. powder sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2-4 Tbsp. milk.

Cream butter and cream cheese together in a medium-sized mixing bowl. Add powder sugar mix until well combined. Add vanilla extract. Slowly add milk until it reaches the desired consistency. Keep any unused frosting in the refrigerator.

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Sugar Cookies Ever!!!

    • Katy,
      This recipe really is easy. As far as your other recipe goes it can be a number of things. You could be over mixing or if your butter is melted and not softened it can make your cookies go flat. Have you checked the expiration date on your leavening agent? Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

