Lemon Blueberry Cookies with a Lemon Poppy Seed Glaze

This recipe has been on my mind for the last few weeks. Once I finished tweaking the Cranberry White Chocolate Chip cookie recipe, I started thinking about what other flavors I could infuse into a cookie.

Blueberry and Lemon are such a classic combination, I knew I had to try that combination next. I also wanted to incorporate poppy seeds into the cookie somehow but I was worried that it would get a little lost in the cookie itself with all the other ingredients. So I came up with the lemon poppy seed glaze and it was the perfect touch to these cookies.

The glaze takes the cookie flavor to a whole new level.

lemonb2

If you want a more subtle mellow flavor, you can serve the cookie without the glaze. Either way, I am thrilled with how these cookies turned out!

lemonb3

When I first told my husband that I wanted to develop a recipe for these cookies, he looked at me puzzled and asked “Why would you put all of those ingredients in one cookie“? I told him to just trust me!

As soon as I took the first batch came out of the oven and  I glazed them, I took one out to him while he was mowing the lawn. The first thing that came out of his mouth was “Mmm those are heavenly”!

These cookies are such happy and cheery cookies. Maybe it is the lemon in them. I really don’t think you can eat one without a smile on your face.

Until next time,

Carrie

lemon blueberry cookies

 

Lemon Blueberry Cookie with a Lemon Poppy Seed Glaze

1 cup of butter, softened

3/4 cups of granulated sugar

3/4 cup of brown sugar

2 eggs

2/3 cup of sour cream

2 tbsp. lemon zest ( about 2 lemons)

1 tbsp. lemon juice  (1 lemon)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3  1/2 cups of all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 bag (12 oz.) white chocolate chips

1 (5oz.) bag of Ocean Spray’s blueberry juice infused craisins, coursely chopped

Glaze

2 tbsp. butter, melted

juice of one lemon (about 1 to 2 tbsp.)

1 cup of powder sugar

1 tsp. poppy seeds

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

1. Cream the butter and sugars in a medium- sized bowl. Mix in the eggs and continue to cream the mixture. Add the sour cream, lemon zest, lemon zest, vanilla extract and mix until well combined.

2. Mix the flour, baking soda, and baking powder together and mix it into the wet ingredients. Fold the white chocolate chips and the blueberries into the cookie dough.

3. Scoop a tablespoon full of cookie dough into a ball and place it onto a greased cookie sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes of until light golden brown.

4. While the cookies are baking whisk the butter, lemon juice, and powder sugar together until there are no more lumps. Mix in the poppy seeds and brush over the warm cookies.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Cookies with a Lemon Poppy Seed Glaze

Leave a Reply

