The Best Homemade Caramel Apples

I am very picky when it comes to my caramel apples! I want the caramel to be soft, but not so soft that it slides off the apple and pools at the bottom. I don’t want it so hard that you can’t bite into the apple.

Caramel Apples

I want the flavor to be a deep caramel but not so rich that I get an instant headache after one bite.

I want the apple to be crisp and fresh. Mushy or grainy apples make me cringe (I’m sure all my Cope cousins know what I am talking about).

Caramel Apples2

 

So after 7 batches of caramel, I finally figured out how to make The Best Homemade Caramel Apple! I am so excited to share this recipe with you so that you can enjoy some homemade caramel apples with your family and friends.

You can find my tips and tricks for caramel apples here.

With love from my kitchen to yours,

Carrie

The Best Homemade Caramel Apples

The Best  Homemade Caramel Apples 

12 small granny smith or gala apples or 10 large granny smith or gala apples

1 cup of butter (unsalted)

2 ¼ cup of brown sugar, packed

1 cup of corn syrup

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

¼ tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tbsp. of heavy cream

Supplies:

10 to 12 popsicles sticks or small dowels

Parchment paper

Candy thermometer

Instructions

  1. Wash the apples with hot water and dry completely. Turn the apple upside down and press the popsicle stick or dowel into the apple. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a heavy sauce pan, melt the butter over medium high heat. Whisk in the brown sugar, corn syrup, salt, and sweetened condensed milk.
  3. Once the caramel comes to a full rolling boil, whisk it constantly until it reaches the soft ball stage (234 degrees).
  4. Remove the caramel from the heat and whisk in the vanilla and heavy cream. Place the pan on a hot pad and let it cool down for 3 minutes.
  5. Tip the pan and hold it on an angle. Then dip the apple in the caramel and twist it slowly to coat the apple completely.
  6. Let the excess caramel drip off of the apple. Roll the apple in candy of your choice and place it on the parchment paper for 5 to 10 minutes or until the caramel sets up. The candy is optional.  They are amazing with only the caramel.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Best Homemade Caramel Apples

Leave a Reply

