Watermelon Cucumber Pineapple Aqua Fresca

A few days ago I went for a run and on my way back I had to stop and pick up my daughter’s bike at her friends house. I don’t know if I am just out of shape or there is something up with her bike but I swear riding her bike a half mile home seemed harder than my run. My legs were on fire by the time I got home and I was completely out of breath. All I could think about on my way home was the watermelon cucumber pineapple aqua fresca I had at home in the fridge.

I’m sure you can guess that as soon as I walked in the door, I poured myself a glass of this heavenly drink and downed it before any of my kids could ask for some. This drink is so refreshing and thirst quenching! I really don’t know how else to describe it.

I developed the recipe for this drink as well as the watermelon lemonade for a TV segment on Utah’s KSL Studio 5. When the lovely host, Brooke Walker tried these drinks, she loved them!

After the show, Stephanie the show’s producer and the rest of the studio staff came over and tried some as well and they couldn’t get enough of it.

Trust me friends, you don’t want to let the cucumbers scare you away! When I tell people what is in the drink, they kind of give me a weird look when I say cucumber.  But once they try it, they love it.

My kids love it too ,and it makes me happy to know that they are drinking something that is good for them!

Until next time,

Carrie

 

Watermelon Cucumber Pineapple Aqua Fresca

 

Watermelon Pineapple Cucumber Aqua Fresca

3 cups of watermelon water (recipe below)

1 cup of pineapple cucumber water (recipe below)

juice of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lime

2 tbsp. sugar

Directions

1. Mix all the ingredients together and stir until the sugar is completely dissolved.

 

Watermelon Water

4  to 5 cups of watermelon, with rind cut off and cut into 1 to 2 inch cubes

1 cup of water

juice of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lime

1 tbsp. sugar (optional)

1. Blend 2 cups of watermelon with 1/2 cup of water. Strain the liquid through a strainer. Continue this process with the remaining watermelon. Stir in the lemon and lime juice and sugar until sugar is dissolved.

 

Pineapple Cucumber Water

2 to 3 lb. pineapple, with outer rind cut off and cut into 1 to 2 inch cubes

1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and cut into 1 to 2 inch cubes

1 to 1  1/2 cups of water

juice of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lime

1 to 2 tbsp. sugar (optional)

1. Blend 1 cup pineapple and 1 cup cucumber with 1/2 cup of water. Strain the liquid through a strainer. Continue this process with the remaining fruit. Stir in the lemon, lime juice, and sugar until the sugar is dissolved.

Leave a comment